Exwick Heights Primary follows the Letters and Sounds phonic programme.

What is Letters and Sounds?

Letters and Sounds is a phonics resource published by the Department for Education and Skills in 2007. It aims to build children’s speaking and listening skills in their own right as well as to prepare children for learning to read and write by developing their phonic knowledge and skills. It sets out a detailed and systematic programme for teaching phonic skills for children enabling them to become fluent readers and writers.


There are six overlapping phases. The table below is a summary based on the Letters and Sounds guidance for Practitioners and Teachers. The Year groups listed in brackets suggest the age that children are taught each phase, but some children will progress more rapidly than others and so this is fluid.


For more detailed information, visit the Letters and Sounds website.

How parents can support their child to develop phonic knowledge?

Speaking to your child’s teacher to gain a personalised overview is the best way to support your child. However, the below games are fun and easy to play and will help your child to build confidence. Games are a terrific way to support your child: they will learn as they play without feeling pressured.


Your child’s teacher completes regular assessments of your child’s progress and so will be able to inform you if they have completed a particular phonic stage. It is important that children do not rush through the different phases until they are ready to move on, as they need to consolidate their phonic knowledge to prevent misconceptions forming.


Games to support children at Phase 1:

Games to support children at Phase 2:

Games to support children at Phase 3:

Games to support children at Phase 4:

Games to support children at Phase 5:

Games to support children at Phase 6: